G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

Healthy at every age

Morning workout was a killer. Proud to say that my little group kicked ass! We had two new friends joining us, Maggie and Gabby’s dad, and I must say I was impressed at their work ethic, energy, and positive attitudes to try a work out created by some crazy 20-year old ex-athlete.

Afterwards, I was eating breakfast in the caf and I realized I was really inspired by two things:

1. Gabby’s dad’s kick-assness

2. My boyfriend’s dad saying how my blog is inspiring him

I realize that not everyone can curl 100 pounds, and that some people struggle with 10, but you know what, IT IS OKAY. Being healthy doesn’t mean going to the gym for three hours a day, seven days a week. It means doing whatever makes you feel good. For some people it is a CrossFit type workout, others may just enjoy doing light weights and lots of cardio.

Whatever floats your boat. It is your life, your health, and your happiness. No one can take that away from you and no one should put you down for not fulfilling their standards of what is a good workout. Everyone is at a different stage in their journey and everyone works at a different pace, or walks to the beat of their own drum. However you want to look at it! Personally, I think I run to the beat of a song in a different language, but hey — I’m happy. And in love with my body. And my life. And my friends and family. And in the end, that is all that matters.

So, if you are looking for some ways to stay healthy without killing yourself, here is what you need. You ready? The secret is…. 30 minutes to an hour a day. That’s it. That is all you need to get your blood pumping and your heart rate up. Here are some ideas for those who want to keep it simple:

– Bike

– Walk briskly

– Swim laps

– Play tennis

– Try the elliptical

– Go for a light jog

– Kick a soccer ball, throw a football

Just be active

It’s your workout. It’s your life. Fit your exercise into your schedule and just do it.

I leave you with this inspiring (and kind of humorous) photo.

Image

– Auburn

4 comments on “Healthy at every age

  1. John Cafaro
    02/05/2014

    Auburn

    Thanks for allowing me to join your group this am. Great workout! I am going to use a lot if your exercises going forward especially when I travel and have a limited gym.
    I enjoy your words of inspiration and hope to get down again to join your group.

    Thanks!
    John Cafaro
    (Gabbys Dad)

    • auburn
      02/05/2014

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! You did awesome and are welcome anytime! Keep checking back here for more workouts! Have a great day!
      – Auburn

  2. Cathy
    02/08/2014

    I guess nan needs to get started on a work out plan. Can,t let my granddaughter out do me. Love from nan

    • Auburn
      02/10/2014

      Just do a little walking each day with Papa and you are good to go! (: Love ya!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/05/2014 by in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
