G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

Early bird special

This weekend exhausted me. I interned late into the night last night so getting up at 6:30 this morning to work out was a struggle. As much as I would have loved to just hit snooze, sleep in, and work out later in the day, I knew that if I didn’t drag my tired ass out of bed I wouldn’t benefit from a great morning workout.

I have never been much of a morning workout-er, unless I was going to BATTLEGROUND back in New Port Richey, so when we had to accommodate Maggie and Alex’s schedules by changing the work out time from 9 or 10am to 7am, lets just say my heart broke a little. And I wanted to cry… okay, maybe that was a little exaggerated, but I am a girl who loves her sleep. And when I say love, I mean I am obsessed with sleep. But I am also really enthusiastic about working out and staying in shape, so getting up before the sun rises is a price I am willing to pay. Even though I go to bed earlier these days, the endorphins I release during my morning work out help me stay fresh and focused during the day…after a little nap of course.

The key is to realize how much better you will feel after the work out. Your eyes may still be halfway shut until halfway through the workout, just kidding – that would be ridiculous, but your body will quickly turn that sleepiness into energy. Working out in the morning may not sound all that fun, but there are some definite perks to getting your sweat on before the sun comes up. (Read more details on the Huffington Post)

1. Better long term results

2. Fewer scheduling conflicts

3. Improved productivity

4. Boosted metabolism

5. Better sleep

6. Better diet

If you are able to steal an hour each morning for a workout, just do it. You body, mind, and soul will thank you! If you put the effort in, you will reap the rewards. And let me tell you, they feel fantastic. So next time you are thinking that you will work out after work or after dinner, do something a little crazy and get up before work. It may take some getting used to, but once your body adapts it will be a walk in the park. Hey, what a great way to start your day: a morning walk in the park. Get that brain of yours working and your heart rate up. After your quick morning workout you will be more awake and have more energy to start your day.

What are you waiting for! Start tomorrow! If Miss I-love-to-sleep (that’s me) can do it, so can you! Try it out and let me know what you think.

-Auburn

Image

2 comments on “Early bird special

  1. Maggie Ross
    02/11/2014

    Haha sorry to hear your heart broke, but working out in the mornings is what gets me up and running, even better than coffee! You’re awesome 🙂

  2. Auburn
    02/18/2014

    I may look gross and dead, but I am happy to get it over with by 8am! (;

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/10/2014 by in Fitness, Health.
