G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

15 seconds – all mental

You can do anything for 15 seconds.

That little seven word saying is my mantra. I would hear this every day I trained at BATTLEGROUND and it just became ingrained into my mind and the fiber of my being. Okay, maybe that is a little over-exaggerated, but still. I say this at every single work out and now my friends have caught on.

Naturally, during our workout this morning when I said, “15 seconds left”, Alex’s response was, “Maggie…?”, to which Maggie, who has started her very own blog, H.E.A.R.T. Yourself – check it out, replied “You can do anything for 15 seconds”. Although we overuse this sweet little motivator, it is absolutely true – you can do anything for 15 seconds.

You may not want to. Your muscles may hurt. You may be out of breath. But guess what, it is only 15 seconds. You can get one last rep in or run just a hair farther.

Maggie (H.E.A.R.T Yourself – seriously, take a peek) asked me if I have done an entry on the “You can do anything for 15 seconds” motto and as I was grunting out my answer, “No”, I realized that I was just waiting for the perfect time to do so.

Today.

When she said that, I knew it was the perfect time to share this mantra. Why? Why today? Because, when I started saying it, Gabby started. Then Alex, and now Maggie. So guess what? It is influential. It helps you realize your potential and it helps you push just a teeny bit farther to get there. 15 seconds? Please. You can do anything for 15 seconds!

Why am I telling you this? Well, if these few words can inspire my friends and I to push our hardest and give it our all, chances are when you start saying it, you will start believing it. And that is when you will see the change. You will feel the change and you will love the change.

The change in attitude. The change in motivation. The change in intensity. The change in your body. The change in your mind. The change will show in your results. It won’t be instantly. You are going to have to work for it – and work hard. Harder than you ever have before.

But it is worth it. It is worth the early mornings. It is worth the sore muscles. It is worth the sweat. It is worth the tears. It means your body is changing. It is getting stronger. And that is an amazing feeling. When you are able to go from a five pound weight to a ten pound weight, celebrate! That is progress. No matter how small, progress is progress. And progress is good.

So, you can do anything for 15 seconds. Seriously, you can. It may sound silly, but when you have 15 seconds left in a round, say it out loud. Hearing that little motivator will give you that little bit of energy you need to finish the series. Then move on to the next one. Say it again.

Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

Soon you will be so accustomed to giving it your all during those last 15 seconds that you won’t even have to think about it. But you will see the changes. You will feel the changes. And you will appreciate the pain, sweat, and challenge that allowed you to make those changes.

You can do anything for 15 seconds. I encourage everyone to try this out – you won’t regret it.

– Auburn

Image

One comment on “15 seconds – all mental

  1. Maggie Ross
    02/12/2014

    You continuously inspire me in my workouts. Today, I celebrated by lifting heavier than I think I ever have, even though I was sore. But I knew I could do it, and my muscles will thank me later. Thanks for writing this post, Auburn!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/12/2014 by in Fitness, Health and tagged , , , , , .
