G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

I love to eat (healthy!)

Nowadays, it seems like everyone is harping on gluten gluten free, fat free, sugar free, and all other crazy diets. I know eating healthy is important. Personally, I think I eat pretty healthy for a 20-year-old college student. Why? Because it makes me feel good.

Don’t get me wrong, I have never been an unhealthy eater, but when I was during soccer season I would eat a lot because I felt it was justified. And it was, to an extent. When I came into the season this year I weighed 116 and now I am about 112. Which I am perfectly fine with. I am not so concerned about my weight for it is just a number and I know muscle weighs more than fat, but I am concerned about the foods I am putting into my body.

I work hard to be in shape. Do I want to counteract all of my hard work for a greasy, fat filled meal? Hell no. I always try to get veggies, a lean meat like fish or chicken, and some fruit. My go-to breakfast is an English muffin with peanut butter and banana with a drizzle of honey, and I usually have a hard boiled egg and maybe a ham slice. Do I measure how much peanut butter I put on? No way. I want to eat healthy but I am not going to bend over backwards to do so. If I want Chick-Fil-A, I will get Chick-Fil-A. And I would get the regular sandwich, not the grilled.

I want to eat healthy because it helps my body replenish and I don’t feel bloated or sluggish. But that doesn’t mean that I go on a crazy diet or cut anything with sugar out. It just means I am conscious of portion control. I always try to have a colorful plate. But if I want some froyo, a cookie, a pudding cup, or a cuppycake, you better believe that I call dibs.

Yes, I do indulge – but sparingly. Like I said, I am working to hard to eat back on all of the calories I am burning. I try to limit myself to a small sweet treat once or twice a week. Also, since I have been watching what I am putting into my body, I don’t crave anything sweet anymore. That is also a big factor. If I’m not really in the mood for it, I’m not going to eat it.

So, do you have to cut out all things yummy? No! Should you be aware of what you put into your body? Yes! A good way to do this is to cook at home more. Although it may be more work than going out to your favorite restaurant, if you are cooking your own meal, with all fresh and healthy ingredients, you know exactly what is in your food. No more guessing. Doesn’t that sound delightful?

My challenge to you is to keep a food log of your regular diet for a week. Writing it down will make you realize what you are putting in you body. The following week, make a slight adjustment to your diet. Keep writing it down. Along with the foods, write how you feel. Sluggish? Full of energy? Keep this going and you will be amazed at the progress and how much better you will feel once you adopt a healthier eating style! And don’t forget – a cookie never killed anyone.

– Auburn

Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/14/2014 by in Happy, Health and tagged , , .
