G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

No sweat? Work harder

This morning the Fab Four had the honor of being joined by Maggie’s boyfriend, Ben. Since he was coming I made the workout extra hard. Like seriously, it was a killer. With my legs still sore from my 5 mile run yesterday, I decided to focus on arms and abs, although there were about five leg exercises thrown in there just to switch it up a bit.

During one of the first times Alex worked out with us, he commented, “Wow, I am actually sweating through my shirt.” I was baffled by this! How could you be surprised that you are sweating during a workout. Then it dawned on me.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I think that guys that are in the gym for three hours a day really only work for about 30 minutes. They chit-chat in between reps and those few minutes add up! My little group likes to get in, and get out – we have got things to do, places to be, and people to see!

So, back to my point. I was so shocked at Alex’s statement that it became the driving force when I am creating my workouts. When I sit down to write the next days workout, I think to myself, “How hard is this going to be? Will it make us sweat through out shirts?” For me, if you aren’t sweating or out of breath, you aren’t working hard enough. Everyone has a different reason for going to the gym, whether it be to train for something, to lose weight, or to just stay fit, but we all have one thing in common- you go to the gym to work hard!

If you are half-assing it, what are you getting out of it? How will you benefit from only doing the minimum amount of reps, super low weight, or not working for the whole entire time? In order to see a change, you need to work for it. Change does not happen over night, nor is it easy.

But it is worth it.

Do I want to get up at 7:30 tomorrow and run for 45 minutes? Not really. Am I going to anyways? You betcha.

Circling back to my story, this morning’s focus was on arms and abs. Halfway through the work out, I looked into the mirror and saw a my red-faced, sweaty, smelly, out of breath, crazy haired reflection looking back at me. Attractive, right? I looked terrible. But you know what, my hard work in the gym pays off, and I can look pretty sexy when I decide to clean up nice. At another point in the workout, Ben realized he was sweating through his shirt. Hallelujah! I was happy. But afterwards, neither one of the boys was sore!

What?!

I am over here barely able to peel my banana and they are both saying they are fine. I just don’t understand….but then later in the day, Alex texted me telling me that he is super sore! And Ben revealed that he feels a bit sore too!

High five! Fist pump! Chest bump! Okay, maybe not that last one, but you get the idea!

The boys are sore! I know that when they are sore, and of course when I am sore (which is every single day), that is was a good workout. And you should be sore! That means that your muscles are tearing, repairing, and getting stronger. The soreness will fade and turn into strength.

Next time you are feeling sore during a workout, remember why you are working out! Push yourself through that last rep, that last mile, that last minute. You will regret not working hard enough, but you will never forget giving it every last once of energy and strength that you had.

So get out there. Work hard. Sweat. Sweat a lot. Sweat through your shirt. See the difference. Feel the difference. And just be happy.

Auburn

Image

One comment on “No sweat? Work harder

  1. pumarific
    02/19/2014

    Hello, I am looking for contributors for a woman lifestyle brand that my partner and I are creating. I love your blog! If you are interested in possibly contributing for a website please contact me @ wearebeyoutiful@gmail.com and please check out our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/BeYoutiful/569771189779600. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/19/2014 by in Fitness, Health.
