G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

Strong sorority girls

I know I don’t normally post on Thursdays, but since I am leaving tomorrow I just have to share about this morning’s workout. Last night I got a text from my sister Mary (remember – I’m a sorority girl) asking me if I could give her some guidance. She says she has gained too much weight and that dieting hasn’t shown any results. But let me tell you, I think Mary looks awesome! She is a little skinny-minnie, but don’t worry, we will make her stronger!

Even though she just asked me for “guidance”, I told her to come workout with me the next day. Her response, “I’m willing to try!” and I love that attitude! She said she noticed how uh-ma-zing Maggie (H.E.A.R.T. Yourself) and she hoped I would be able to help her get in shape. Challenge accepted! Well, not really for me, but for Mary!

Today we did a pretty easy workout (I didn’t want to scare her away) and she did five to eight pounds, which is totally fine! I don’t expect her to be able to curl 20 lbs on the first day. We are building her strength. We are tearing her muscles so they can get stronger. We are raising her heart rate and making her sweat. All it takes is 45 minutes and the dedication to making a change.

Here is what we did today:

  • Tricep Extension
  • Goblet Plie Squat
  • Bicycles
  • Jumping Jacks
  • Push Ups – any kind (diamond, wide, uneven)
  • Pulse Lunges
  • Eagle Crunch
  • Mt. Climbers
  • Bicep Curl
  • Wall Sit (1.5 minutes)
  • Crunches
  • Burpees
  • Shoulder Press
  • Deadlift
  • Toe Touches
  • Jumprope

I am so proud of Mary for taking the initiative and working toward being healthy and getting stronger. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. It doesn’t mean you are weak! It means you are strong! You are strong enough to realize you need to make a change and you realize you can’t do it on your own. Ask for help and don’t be ashamed. I needed help. BATTLEGROUND was my help. Thanks to them, I am stronger than ever. They taught me everything I know and I will be forever grateful to Loren and Jules.

After I broke my collarbone, I was out of commission for about three months. Once I could bike, I would do that every day. But after I was 100% healed, my arms were still weak. So guess what. I started with 7 pounds. It killed me a little bit inside because I knew I had a long way to go to be as strong as I was before, but I was determined. I worked hard with those 7 pounders and then I slowly moved up. By the end of the month, I was at 12-15 pounds and now I am at 20, 25, 30 pounds (depending on the exercise). Now, I am stronger than ever and I feel amazing. And I am so happy to be sharing this experience with Maggie, Gabby, Alex, and now Mary!

Find a friend, a trainer, or gym. Anyone to hold you accountable. They will help push you to your limit. You may not like them in the heat of the moment, but in the end you will love them getting on you. You will love the encouragement and motivation they give you during every workout.

Don’t feel like you need to start lifting super heavy weights right out of the gate. That’s not how it works. You need to start small. Start with 7-8 pounds and once those start to feel too easy, bump up to 10-12 pounds! It will take a couple of weeks for your body to adapt and get stronger, but once that happens you will love your newfound strength!

Stay positive and keep working hard!

Auburn

Image

2 comments on “Strong sorority girls

  1. Cathy
    02/27/2014

    Aub u keep amazing me. This shows you care for your friends

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/27/2014 by in Fitness, Health.
