G.E.T. F.I.T.

Be genuine, energetic, tenacious, fearful, inspiring, thankful

Aloha!

Hello there, strangers! Sorry I have been MIA for the past couple of weeks, but there is a good reason for that. One word: Hawaii. That’s right, folks! I just spent my Spring Break on the beautiful Big Island of Hawaii.

This post is going to be a little different than usual, but I think it will be a good type of different. I bet you are wondering if I worked out while enjoying the Hawaiian breeze from my patio.

Image

The view from my early morning workouts! So breathtaking.

The answer… is yes! I was physically in the state for about six full days and I worked out four out of those six days. I would say that is pretty good considering I was on vacation with the ocean in my backyard.

Although I really didn’t want to wake up even early than I needed to, I knew that I would feel so much better after a morning work out. Of course I had to improvise a bit since I had no equipment, but my full body work out was still a killer.

I also knew I had to burn off all the delicious food I ate. Man, oh man, let me tell you about the food!. I was eating guilt-free on this trip because I wanted to truly enjoy myself and immerse myself in the beautiful Hawaiian culture. I only gained one pound while stuffing my face for six days so I say that’s a win-win. I devoured great food and my physical health didn’t suffer. Because I worked out.

Image

Poke – Raw Tuna in an Avocado Sauce

My friend Josh did not enjoy Da Poke Shack, but I think it was one of my favorite meals of the whole trip! Apparently, it is the number one restaurant in the world. Pretty snazzy, huh?

Image

Octopus! Tasted like teriyaki!

I consider myself a pretty adventurous foodie, so naturally I had to try octopus. It looked weird, but tasted awesome. Two thumbs up.

Image

Malasada, a.k.a. the best doughnut you will ever have in your life! Doughnut with a Hawaiian flare, of course.

I had about three of these malasadas throughout the whole trip and let me tell you, no shame. One was filled with a vanilla creme, one had apple, and the other one (from a different place) was raspberry. Noms on noms on noms.

Image

Pulled Pork Wonton Nachos

These nachos were to die for! As much as I wanted to, I just couldn’t finish the whole plate. They were wickedly delicious and the family that ran the restaurant was so sweet!

Image

Seared Scallops with Coconut Sweet Potato and Mixed Vegetables

I am a sweet potato girl and I have to say, these were the best sweet potatoes I have ever had in my life. The colorful sauce on the sides was also really tasty. I may or may not have eaten that all on its lonesome….

Image

Kona Coffee Chocolate Mousse Cake with a Chocolate Mac Nut filled Crust

Last but not least: dessert! This mousse was so rich that I had to eat is super slowly. The mac nuts gave it the perfect crunch to compliment the smoothness of the chocolate mousse.

That is enough about the food! Here is a quick photo journal of our activities:

Image

Biking on a Volcano! It was a little rainy but I think it made our bikes go faster!

Image

Secret spot our tour guide showed us!

Image

Snorkeling in the big blue ocean! So beautiful. Shaka love.

Image

Zip line through the rainforest. Six zips and one suspension bridge.

Image

Paddle boarding! My newfound love.

Image

Luau at the Sheraton with my sorority sister, Stephanie!

Well, there you have it! My amazing, slightly dramatic, week in Hawaii in one little blog post. Sorry this post strayed from the norm, but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do.

Hope you all had a great week and I can’t wait to get back into blogging for you guys! Mahalo for reading!

Auburn

One comment on “Aloha!

  1. James
    03/17/2014

    great!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 03/13/2014 by in Uncategorized.
